DLand profile IM me AIM! Old news about Kat... What's going on right now...


~I am feeling .
~I look at the moment.
~I am listening to right now.


God, I love this boy so much....

...and my lil kitten Moo, too.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:

Last Entry - Next Entry - Newest Entry

Mah college essay

June 03, 2002 ~ 4:45 PM

This was the very short college essay that got me into 4/7 of the colleges I applied to! Juss decided to put it here since I'm erasing it off of my disk.


The gemstone amethyst is not a precious jewel. It is not worth an immense amount of money. It does not sparkle like an icy diamond or flask like a fiery ruby. Yet, I think that the dark purple amethyst is, by far, the most beautiful stone that can be found in the earth. It does not seem to be too valuable, but if one gives it a second, closer look, the subtle beauty of this stone will radiate.

I am that purple amethyst. I will not be class valedictorian. I do not participate in soccer or cheerleading or band. Nor have I had the picture-perfect life in which Mommy and Daddy smile and encourage. Nevertheless, I am perseverant. I refuse to give up; I absolutely will not. I might not be the smartest or the most popular, but I know what I want in life and I will go to any lengths to achieve my goals.

My parents were brought up in a society and era where beating a child until se is curled up in a fetal position would be considered the norm. However, I disregard their conduct. I have endured their emotional and physical mistreatment for seventeen years. Regardless, I am a nice person, I know right from wrong, and my morals are pure gold.

I have never turned to drugs or alcohol for reprieve... I sought education. Learning is my escape, my sanctuary. My parents do not believe that I will achieve my dreams. In their minds, if they say I will not prevail, then I will not. I will relish proving them wrong. I will get an education; I will get a Ph.D. in Psychology; I will become a psychiatrist, but still be a novelist and maybe a movie star, too; I will help people, my way. I will be Kaitlyn. I will be me.


Of course, shortly after this essay was written... I did end up seeking both drugs and alcohol. I still love my Bacardi and Pepsi but I quit drugs 3 months ago. =) Yay me!

Last Entry - Next Entry - Newest Entry

~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~

�MY 5 MOST RECENT ENTRIES�

August 02, 2004 [3:29 AM] - Took the HELL test again...

July 29, 2004 [3:57 AM] - Forgiveness... Meh. Lol

July 28, 2004 [4:54 PM] - Emotional Limbo... *bends over backwards*

July 28, 2004 [1:29 PM] - the miracle of Moo

July 28, 2004 [3:05 AM] - The sound of the ocean....

.